Full list of Designated States requiring mandatory Hotel Quarantining. List current as of 2nd April 2021

Travel to Ireland from specific designated States is now subject to mandatory hotel quarantine. This must be pre-booked in advance of travel. These arrangements apply to any passenger who has been in any of these countries in the previous 14 days, even if only transiting through one of these countries and even if remaining airside. These arrangements also apply to any passenger who is travelling on to Northern Ireland.

Please treat these lists as provisional and subject to change at short notice.


  • Angola
  • Botswana
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  • Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Federal Republic of Somalia
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Eswatini
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Republic of Mauritius*
  • Republic of South Africa
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

*Passengers arriving from Mauritius before 4am on the morning of Tuesday 6 April must prebook and enter mandatory hotel quarantine.



  • Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan
  • Kingdom of Bahrain
  • Republic of Lebanon
  • Republic of the Philippines
  • State of Israel
  • State of Kuwait
  • State of Palestine
  • State of Qatar
  • Sultanate of Oman
  • United Arab Emirates



  • Austria
  • Montenegro
  • Principality of Andorra
  • Principality of Monaco
  • Republic of Albania
  • Republic of Kosovo
  • Republic of Moldova
  • Republic of North Macedonia
  • Republic of San Marino
  • Republic of Serbia


North America

  • Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
  • Saint Lucia



  • Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands



South America

  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela


  1. Ireland is the first EU country to introduce a system of mandatory hotel quarantine for arrivals from designated countries. A limited number of other European countries have been included on the lists including Austria. It is probable that Ireland will seek to include additional EU jurisdictions as the public health situation dictates.
  2. The Hotel Quarantine system was introduced on 26th March for a limited number of jurisdictions including  Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Chile, Mauritius, Rwanda, South Africa, the United Arab Emirates and Zimbabwe. From 4 AM 6th April arrivals from all of the above countries or those who have transited within the last 14 days will require to quarantine at a designated facility.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *